I have often wondered about those emergency preparedness groups and if they really have much input from people with disabilities on what we really need in the event of a disaster.  Have any of you offered to talk with the groups?  When I think about all the people with disabilities I’ve worked with over the years, and of my own disabilities, I have to wonder what it would be like if disaster struck and I had to be evacuated to a center somewhere to stay for an extended period of time.

I have rheumatoid and osteoarthritis.  Stairs are difficult for me.  Standing up after sitting on a low chair is also hard.  If my fingers get cold, they barely work.  And my joints hurt at night, so I’m up, on and off, all night long.  Now, think about what it might be like to be shuttled to a local school, given a cot in the gymnasium, instructed to use the little girls’ room (literally!), and eating meals in the cafeteria on those picnic-like tables they use.  I don’t know how I’d manage it, but I can tell you that if I didn’t have my Go Kit, I’d be damn miserable.

I am part of a State-wide group that looks at disaster preparedness.  I try to represent people with disabilities and help the others group members see the trials of managing to evacuate if you have a disability.  I don’t use a wheelchair.  What about those people who do?  I can hear fairly well, but what about those who are deaf?  Can they hear the instructions being given for where people need to be?  What about those who have vision impairments?  Can they read the signs directing them?  What about the elderly, and those with mental impairments?  Where can they go and be safe?  What if excessive noise and activity disturb them?  How do we provide a safe haven for people with disabilities?

The onus isn’t all on the government or emergency personnel.  Part of it has to lie with each one of us who has a disability.  We know what our needs are.  We know how to best meet those needs.  We have a responsibility to make our own plan and see to it, to the best of our ability, that we have what we need, when we need it.