One of the problems of helping older people during an emergency is that they may not understand instructions or directions due to difficulty hearing, processing, or reading information. As I am now in the age group that has the most difficulty with these issues, it’s a little scary for me to think about how I’d manage during and after a disaster.

In the event there was an emergency and I had to evacuate, I might be directed to do so by radio, television or even a police car driving down the street announcing that a mandatory evacuation was being enforced. I know without even thinking about it that the likelihood of my hearing all of an announcement like that is pretty unlikely. I have trouble now hearing on the phone, or the television, yet alone someone driving by and making an announcement. I am not sure if it’s that my brain isn’t processing information that fast any more, or if my hearing is bad, or if it is something else entirely, but I fear I’d miss at least part of the message.

That’s why it is so important to make sure your message reaches your audience. When planning for emergency response, you need to think about each group within your audience. Are you reaching older adults, those with disabilities, and those who speak foreign languages? We want to be sure the messages we send are reaching the people who need to hear them!