Have you ever thought about how dependent you are on electricity? I’m reading a book at the moment that is based on a Power Company learning that they are no longer going to be able to meet the publics’ demand for electricity. It certainly has given me food for thought over the past few days.

Electricity makes our lives easier. I would hate to go back to washing clothes by hand, hanging them outside to dry and then ironing them with a fire-heated iron! I wouldn’t enjoy having no television or radio, or computer and all the other technology I take for granted on a daily basis.

I’ve been thinking about how I would survive without power if forced to do so. How would I heat my home during the winter? How would I cook food? With no electricity I could still drive my car, but there would be no stoplights…and don’t gas stations rely on electricity for their pumps to work?

There are so many implications for how things would change if we lost power for any great length of time. It’s worth thinking about what we would need to survive, and how we would manage without power if necessary. No wonder it should be part of our emergency preparedness plan!